National Cadet Corps (NCC)



The National Cadet Corps (NCC) Is
The Youth Wing Of The Indian Armed
Forces With Its Headquarters In New
Delhi, India. It Is Open To School And
College Students On Voluntary Basis
As A Tri-Services Organisation,
Comprising The Army, The
Navy And The Air Wing, Engaged In
Developing The Youth Of The Country
Into Disciplined And Patriotic Citizens.
The Soldier Youth Foundation
In India Is A Voluntary Organization
Which Recruits Cadets From High
Schools,

Higher\Secondary, <u>Colleges</u> And <u>Unive</u> <u>rsities</u> All Over <u>India</u>. The Cadets Are

Given Basic Military Training In Small Arms And Drill. The Officers And Cadets Have No Liability For Active Military Service Once They Complete Their Course. The Emblem Of The NCC Consists Of 3 Colours; Red, Dark Blue And Light Blue. These Colours Represent The Indian Army, Indian Navy And Indian Air Force Respectively. The 17 Lotuses Indicate The 17 Directories Of India

HISTORY: NCC was firstly started in 1666 in Germany. The NCC in India was formed with the National Cadet Corps Act of 1948. It was raised on 15 July 1948. The origin of NCC can be traced back to the 'University Corps', which was created under the Indian Defence Act 1917, with the objective to make up the shortage of the Army.

WHO STARTED NCC: Pandit H.N. Kunzru was started NCC in India

MOTO: The Motto Of NCC Is: "UNITY AND DISCIPLINE".

NCC FLAG: The three colours in the flag depict the three services of the Corps, **red for the Army, deep blue for the Navy and light blue for the Air Force**. The letters NCC and the NCC crest in gold in the middle of the flag encircled by a wreath of lotus, give the flag a colourful look and a distinct identity.



NCC RANK:





UNITS

These 17 directorates are divided in total of 814 units divided in three service groups Army, Naval and Air. Out of those 684 are Army, 69 Naval and 61 Air units.

Types of Army NCC units and their numbers are given below:

TYPE OF UNITS	NO
ARMD SQN	11
ARTY REGT (Artillery Regt)	03
ARTY BTY	20
ENGR REGT (Engineer Regiments)	02
ENGR COY (Engineer Coy)	11
SIG REGT	01
SIG COY	13
MED BN (Medical BN)	02
MED COY (Medical COY)	11
R&V REGT	03
R&V COY	15
EME BN (Electronics and Mechanical Engineers BN)	02
EME COY (Electronics and Mechanical Engineers coy)	06
CTR	11

СТС	12
INF BN (Infantry Battalion)	369
INF INDEP COY	46
GIRLS BN	97

